Weighted Issue Prioritization in Jira

Jacek Darlinski July 28, 2017

I'm a product manager, so I want to be able to collect data on my issues in Jira and automatically see a calculated priority value of this issue:

• I have a set of standardized metrics captured in custom fields that I can apply to my tickets: Urgency (Hotfix, Critical, Trivial), Count of users impacted, Strategic Focus (High,Medium,Low), Issue Value, LOE and the like.
  • Each of these metrics needs to be translated to some numerical value that can
    be added up to get a score. This numerical value is a representation
    of a picklist. E.g. Hotfix = 5, Critical = 3, Trivial = 1.
  • Each of these metrics has some weight when compared to each other, e.g. Urgency counts 15% towards a final score, LOE counts 20%.
  • I use these values to calculate a priority score like this: (Metric1 * WeightMetric1) + (Metric2 * WeightMetric2) + (Metric3 * WeightMetric3) + (Metric4 * WeightMetric4) + (Metric5 * WeightMetric5) = SCORE
  • Metrics and WeightMetric should be global values that I want to be able to change at times to accommodate shifting priorities and focuses.

I would like to be able to:

STORE global values for Metric and WeigthMetric

CALCULATE a score based on the global values selected for each issue

CHANGE global values as needed

Anyone ever tried that? Anyone a clue if Jira can pull this off?

3 answers

1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 29, 2017

Yep, the bit of work I did yesterday was upgrading something similar from JIRA 6 to JIRA 7.   It was a set of scripted fields provided by Script Runner (there are some other add-ons that can provide similar calculated fields, and the option of writing your own fields too).