Validate whether user is part of group a||group b when item is created via simple scripted validator

Luke November 22, 2019

My client wants to restrict item creation to people of two teams.

Due to the circumstances I can't work with simple permissions.

The client is using scriptrunner for other projects; So my initial thought was to leverage that.

By using a simple scripted validator in the "create" transition I want to check whether the current user is part of group a or group b, if it validates to true, the item can be created.

I am a total groovy script noob, so naturally I've done some digging and came up with the following groovy "script":

import com.atlassian. jira.components.ComponentAccessor
if(ComponentAccessor.getGroupManager().isUserInGroup(currentUser, "group name a")){}
else if(ComponentAccessor.getGroupManager().isUserInGroup(currentUser, "group name b")) {}

Which does not work.

Regardless of it working as intended or not, it also doesn't display the error message I provided in the ssv.

What am I doing wrong? Is there a better solution, do I just need to adjust the script?

1 answer

1 vote
Leo
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 22, 2019

Hi @Luke,

you can do that using below steps --> Script Validator --> Simple Script Validator

source: code

Error: your error message

Field: Issue Type

I'm attaching snippet for your reference, here I'm not allowing "Group-A" members to create "Story", you can modify this code according to your requirement

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor 

def groupManager = ComponentAccessor.getGroupManager()

if(groupManager.isUserInGroup(issue.reporter?.name, 'Greoup-A') && !issue.issueType.name == "Story"){
return true
}else{
return false
}

BR,

Leo

Luke November 22, 2019

Hi Leo

Thanks for your input.