Users showing Inactive

jason.heaney September 8, 2022

Hello,  We started noticing more users accounts are showing "inactive".  The users are still with the company and have not been removed from the systems.  I went in and switched one user back to active. Then shortly after jira switched it back to inactive.  We have Okta and no LDAP/AD for user management.  I am new to Jira and need some help with this please. Checked the forums but doesn't seem to be a fix for this scenario. 

2 answers

0 votes

@ Martin Bayer  all it shows there is I went in and activated the user. Then manually ran the sync and then Jira set the user to inactive. 

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 1.13.57 PM.png

Ed Letifov _TechTime - New Zealand_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 7, 2022

Hello, @jason.heaney 

You said this:

"Then manually ran the sync and then Jira set the user to inactive."

If you don't have LDAP connection and OKTA is not doing user provisioning/management – what is this "sync" that you have run?

jason.heaney October 11, 2022

Hello @Ed Letifov _TechTime - New Zealand_ 

It looks like Okta is doing the provisioning via API.  I just created a new API token in Okta and entered it in the existing connector in Jira under the User Sync configuration. But that seems to not have fixed the issue. I found a band aide for the issue. By changed the cleanup behavior setting from disable accounts to Do nothing. So I am not sure whats causing this if the users account in Okta are active

0 votes
Martin Bayer _MoroSystems_ s_r_o__
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 8, 2022