Trying to create an Automation reminding assignees that there are subtasks and tasks due in 5 days

LJ April 4, 2023

Hi everyone!

I'm currently attempting to create a global automation for a service project and a business project that reminds assignees that they have subtasks/tasks due in 5 days from the due date.

I currently have the following JQL:

Screenshot 2023-04-05 at 2.54.01 pm.png

but am getting the attached error: 

Screenshot 2023-04-05 at 2.55.01 pm.png

I'm fairly new to Jira so any assistance would be really appreciated :) Thank you!

4 answers

1 vote
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 5, 2023

Hi @LJ 

Yes, and...to the other answers posted:

You do not show the details of your scheduled trigger, so I am assuming it does not have JQL as you are also using Lookup Issues.

But, your Send Email action references {{issue}} fields, which do not exist.  When you use Lookup Issues, you instead reference the {{lookupIssues}} smart value, either as a set or individually by iterating over them.  Please look here for more information about using Lookup Issues: https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-automation-actions/#Lookup-issues

Kind regards,
Bill

0 votes
Michael Fedulov
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 23, 2023

Hi @LJ

We have recently added a template that could help you solve this issue: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/automation-template-library#/rule/9918938

Hope it helps and please let us know if it worked for you! 

0 votes
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 7, 2023

Hi @LJ,