Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Next challenges

Recent achievements

  • Global
  • Personal

Recognition

  • Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

  • Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Trial version upgrade to premium of Jira Software Cloud project/product configurations are saved?

Good day, 

our organization is currently using the premium trial version of Jira Cloud which gives us the premium functions for one month. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the answer to this question in the help guidelines:

What happens after the month with our configurations if we do not decide to use the premium version right away, but for example 2 months later. How long will our permission schemes, etc. be saved and will it be usable the same way it is configured now, once we decide to start paying for the premium version?

Thank you very much for your help in advance

1 answer

Hi @Andreas Hillebrand,

From the Licensing and purchasing FAQ 

Atlassian offers fully functional trials of our Standard and Premium products for a period of 7 days (can be extended to a maximum of 37 days upon request). When your trial expires, you can continue using the product by adding a credit card to my.atlassian.com. Should you opt to discontinue the use of our cloud services, we offer full refunds during the first month of paid service following the end of the trial, if you decide its not for you. After the first paid month, we are unable to offer refunds or exchanges. If you choose to not add a credit card at the end of your 7-day Standard trial, your site will automatically be downgraded to a Cloud Free plan.

The limitations of that plan and what will happen to your configuration is described in this support article. Specific to your question about permissons:

project permissions are kept in their current state but anonymous access (if you had granted it) is removed. You'll need to upgrade again to change permissions.

Thank you very much for your answer, but this didn't really answer my question unfortunately. What will happen to the configurations after we have decided to pay for the premium? Will they be the same as they have been during the trial month?

Hi @Andreas Hillebrand,

As you specifically mentioned permission schemes in your question, I referred to that part of the support article:

"project permissions are kept in their current state but anonymous access is removed. You'll need to upgrade again to change permissions"

That means that your permissions configuration will be updated when your premium trial ends. And that the chance is real that you'll have to reapply certain configuration changes once you go premium.

Jira configuration is extremely broad. Many of the configuration settings are available across all plans. So apart from permissions, what do you have in mind? 

Like Andreas Hillebrand likes this

Thank you very much for your answer. Yes, the permission schemes would be most important, but also other small configurations would be nice to keep. 

Do you know if it is possible to keep the permission schemes configurations by exporting the system with the back up manager during the trial period (which would be now) and the importing it, once we decide to start the paid version?

To be perfectly honest - permission schemes are for classic projects. It is best practice there to share your permission/configuration schemes as much as possible. As a result, in most instances I helped configure, that usually leads to a very limited set of schemes, e.g. a default scheme, a read only permission scheme for older projects that you still want to keep available for viewing, maybe the odd exception where a team has very specific requirements.

If the only thing you lose is anonymous access, I'd rather document where you applied it (if you would do that at all) and quickly reapply where it has been removed.

A backup may be useful if you don't plan to do anything at all in your instance between the time your trial expires and you decide to switch to a paid plan. Restoring it will overwrite your entire instance. There is no way to restore separate configuration bits and pieces from it to another site - as of today.

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
PERMISSIONS LEVEL
Site Admin
TAGS

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you