Right sidebar (help sidebar) opening and empty on page load

Justin Webb April 5, 2023

Hi, I'm new to Jira and somehow managed to alter a setting that changes the UI for my profile. When on my laptop (PC) and I open an issue, board, or any other page within a project, the right sidebar (where the "Help" information appears) defaults to open, but is empty of content. I have cleared cookies and cache, and even downloaded a new browser, but it always opens.

This takes up 25% of the page and is very frustrating when reviewing tickets on the backlog page. The only workaround I can find is to open developer tools and alter the CSS to minimize the sidebar, but this gets very frustrating as Jira loves opening issues in new tabs.

Any ideas?

TRAD-board-Agile-Board-Jira.png

3 answers

1 vote
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 7, 2023

Hi @Justin Webb , welcome to the community.

This seems odd and I do not think that there is a configuration for this. I just had a quick look in my instance and couldn't find anything. Have you tried a different browser just to see if the behavior is the same? Also, have you checked with anyone else in your instance to see what they are experiencing?

Justin Webb April 18, 2023

Thanks Jack. Unfortunately it's a cross-browser issue. I've tried on Chrome and Edge (only browsers permitted by my employer) and get the same issue.

Screenshot 2023-04-18.png

It's also happening across projects, so it's a profile issue. 

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 18, 2023

I am unsure of what else to look at TBH. I have tagged this to see if someone can comment further.

Justin Webb April 18, 2023