Returning only highest level result using JQL

Anthony March 26, 2018

Apologies if this has been asked before - I've searched but am struggling to find a similar example and would appreciate some help. I'm pretty new to jira. 

My company uses the epic/theme field in jira to mark certain types of work. Sometimes this tag is applied at an epic level, and other times it is applied at a story level (within an epic that does not contain the epic/theme criteria needed)

In the structure below, the Y/N refers to whether or not that epic or story is marked by the necessary epic/theme

Epic 1 (Y)
- story 1 (Y)
- story 2 (Y)
- story 3 (N)

Epic 2 (N)
- story 1 (Y)
- story 2 (N)
- story 3 (N)

My question: Is it possible to write something in JQL that would return only the highest level instance of a particular epic/theme? 

Given the example above, the result that I'd like to bring about would only have two results:

1. Epic 1 (epic only, do not return stories)
2. Epic 2 Story 1 (story only, do not return the epic)

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Alexey Matveev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 26, 2018

You would need to develop your own JQL functions, either by Power Scripts or ScriptRunner plugins

1 vote
Egor Tasa [ALM Works]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 27, 2018

Hi Anthony,

What you mention can be accomplished by S-JQL in our Structure app, if you are open to try a new app. S-JQL - short for "structured JQL" - combines issue's position within a hierarchy with filtering by its attributes.

In the Structure you can build a hierarchy for your use case the following way: