Post function in Jira should update a custom field based on values in other custom field at the time of creating the issues

ashleyg November 19, 2015

Post function should update a custom field(labels field) say field ABC with value "a1b1c1" to all the newly created issues that have the custom field “XYZ” set to one of the following values:

("a1b1c1","a2b2c2","a3b3c3",.......)

I read somewhere that this could be achieved using script runner post function but i am a novice in script writing.

If someone could help me out here with the complete script, i would be extremely grateful to this forum as always.

Regards,

Ashley

6 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Thanos Batagiannis _Adaptavist_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 19, 2015

Ashley,

If you already use script runner then:

Go to Script Listeners -> Custom Listener

Select the project, in the Events field select Issue Created and in the Inline Script textfield add the following script:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.label.LabelManager

Issue issue = event.issue

def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager()
def labelManager = ComponentAccessor.getComponent(LabelManager.class)
def listOfPredefinedValues = ["Collateral Optimisation",
                              "Financial Reporting",
                              "Risk Platform and FRTB",
                              "Trading Data Warehouse",
                              "Market Data",
                              "Technical Foundation",
                              "Trading and Risk Domain"]
def flag = false;
def label = 'Trading&Risk-Domain'
def cf = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectByName("Project Name")
def dropDownValue = cf?.getValue(issue)