Please give an example workflow of a Business Analysis

Nida Ahmed June 13, 2019

Hi,

I am a Business Analyst whose company is just starting to use JIRA for all aspects of SDLC. I want to be able to see an example of Business Analysis workflow in JIRA that goes from capturing requirements down to creating user stories.

Any help will be appreciated, thanks!

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Marat Kiniabulatov June 13, 2019

Hi, @Nida Ahmed !

Sorry, posted from the wrong account :) Welcome to Atlassian Community!

I've written an article 2 years ago, on how we manage it at one of the organizations.

In a nutshell, there's a separate project for reqs: statuses are New -> Evaluation -> Sign Off -> Analysis / User Stories -> Ready for Dev.

Format for ticket structure usually is:

Epic <-> Interlinked with Confluence article

- User Stories

- Tasks

Here's a bit more detailed view in my blog post https://kiniabulatov.com/2017/08/24/how-to-ensure-requirements-quality-skuvault-way/

Dave Rosenlund
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 14, 2019

That's a nice/helpful article, @Marat Kiniabulatov  👍

Nida Ahmed June 17, 2019

Thank you for your response and for the resource.

I read through the article, but I think I have to take several steps back, since perhaps I'm not understanding how "workflows" are created.

Here is where I am (attached photo): I have currently created a "Requirements Management" Business project board. It's blank and now I start with "create issue"? I'm confused on how I get from this point to the picture in your article of the "Pre-development Kanban board" or am I going about this the wrong way? That picture is where I need to get to!