No due dates?

Ben F January 31, 2021

I am new to Jira and wondering how it can be project management software when there is no apparent way to set a due date for anything. A project by definition has a start date and end date.  I have tried competing software and due dates are everywhere,,, like they should be.  Am I missing something?

4 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Ben F January 31, 2021

Been searching the forums earliest today, found a lot of posts about Due Date and how it is missing, many  of the instructions to add it must be dated as they refer to links and steps that don’t seem to apply any longer.

Found it myself, still not sure why it’s not turned on by default, but here is how I did it:

To set Due Date for an Epic.

Create a project > create a epic .  Epic is created, but due date field is not present.

Now go to “Create” button on top of the screen.   Create > New window opens. Under “Issue Type” drop down select “Epic” >  New window opens, in that top corner is a button for “Configure Fields” click that > A list of fields is shown (due date is missing).  Click on link “Where is my field?’ > Type “Due Date” in search box >  Another window opens with a list of results, scroll down toward the bottom,   find “due date is not included…   …To solve this problem go to ….”  Click that link > A new screen opens displaying a list of fields, due date is not on it.   Scroll to the bottom to a dropdown box, choose “Due Date” from the dropdown box.  Due date is now added.  Drag around in the order you would like it to appear.

To set Due Date for a task: