Need help to set DueDate automatically filled in as 5 days after creation of issue

Vijaya Kumara November 18, 2019

Dear All,

I am quite new to Jira / Confluence and I am not from development background.

I need to set an Automatic date for Duedate for issues = 5 days after creation of Issue should be DueDate, Should exclude Saturdays and Sundays.

I used a expression / Code from blog as below, but got error messages. To be honest I don't know anything about programming.

Used expression

issue.setDueDate (new Timestamp (cal.getTimeInMillis() + 5 * 1000 * 24 * 60 * 60))

Error message

Unable to resolve class Timestamp @Line 1, column19

I am using Jira v7.13.3

Could you please help and guide

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Leonard Chew
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 19, 2019

Hi there

Do it with a Scriptrunner Postfunction.

1. Create a scriptrunner postfunction on your create transition, type: custom
  2. Move the Postfunction between the creation step and the re-index step
  3. Add this code
import org.apache.log4j.Level
log.setLevel(Level.DEBUG)

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.event.type.EventDispatchOption

def user = ComponentAccessor.getJiraAuthenticationContext().getLoggedInUser()
def issueManager = ComponentAccessor.getIssueManager()
def creation = issue.getCreated()
def daysToShift = 5

def newDueDate = creation + daysToShift
def dayOfWeek = newDueDate.getDay()

switch (dayOfWeek) {
case 0 : newDueDate = newDueDate + 1 // sunday
log.debug('Adding 1 day to Sunday')
break
case 6 : newDueDate = newDueDate + 2 // saturday
log.debug('Adding 2 days to Saturday')
break
}

issue.setDueDate(newDueDate)
issueManager.updateIssue(user, issue, EventDispatchOption.DO_NOT_DISPATCH, false)