Need help on making issue link mandatory on create and edit (if there is not links present already)

Durga prasad panda September 26, 2019

Hi

I am very new to scripting. I have a requirement to set Issue linking mandatory while creating an issue.
I have to set Linked issues to "is part of" (inward link) and also in issues field, it should only show tickets from that same project only.

However to make it mandatory I used behavior and added below code.

getFieldById("issuelinks-linktype").setFormValue("is part of").setReadOnly(true)
getFieldById('issuelinks-issues').setReadOnly(false)

for some part, it is working fine. It is making issue linking mandatory while creating the issue also link type is set to "Is part of"

But the main problem is whenever I am trying to edit one issue, at that time even if there is already an existing link it is again asking to fill in the linking issue-issue filed.

and is it possible to show issue from the same project only in that issue filed?

any help would be highly appreciable. 

2 answers

2 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 26, 2019

Hi @Durga prasad panda 

Start with this piece of code.

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.link.IssueLink

def links = getFieldById('issuelinks')
def linksValue = links.getValue()
def linkType = getFieldById("issuelinks-linktype")
def linkTypeValue = linkType.getValue()
def linkField = getFieldById('issuelinks-issues')
def linkFieldValue = linkField.getValue()

def existingLinks = ComponentAccessor.getIssueLinkManager().getInwardLinks(underlyingIssue?.getId())

if (existingLinks?.size() == 0 && linkTypeValue == "is part of") {

links.setRequired(true)

} else {

links.setRequired(false)

}