Jira Assets Schemas best practice

Jim Smith April 5, 2024

I'm just getting started on Jira Assets and have a very general question around Schemas.  Is it better to have a Hardware Schema and a People Schema separate from each other? In my head, starting with a blank schema and then having hardware objects and employee objects and facility objects in one schema would make it easier?

1 answer

0 votes
Mark Segall
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 5, 2024

Hi @Jim Smith - Whether to have single or multiple object schemas really depends upon how you envision maintaining the environment. 

• Will it be a single group that manages everything? If yes, then maybe it's ok but if no, you'll want to consider access control design to ensure people aren't tripping over each other.
  • Understanding the asset field and automation impacts - Having to account for multiple object types with varying degree of business logic complexity will make for increasingly complex AQL that needs to be factored into both asset field configuration and any automation rule behavior.  For the latter, you'll also need to think more about any limits.
  • Scalability - Right now, you may only be concerned with hardware, facilities, and people. However, it's important to think about the future. Will there be other object types that make more sense residing in their own schema and will those object types need to share say, People data with Hardware?  If the answer is yes to that, it would make sense to split them out now and save the future headache.
Jim Smith April 8, 2024