JIRA automation smart value for project lead - issue.project.lead - is null

Kyle Quevillon February 5, 2021

I am just getting started using JIRA automation for JIRA Premium in the cloud.

I would like to be able to automatically set the assignee for an issue upon specific transition to the project lead and to email that project lead.

However, looking at the smartvalue for {{issue.project.lead}} in a debug rule I set up, those values are null, even though my project has a lead set (me for my test project) and they have email addresses set up in their profile.  (of course all projects have it as a required field).

Any help?  I'd like to be able to access who is the project lead for any issue and be able to assign them, email them and possibly tag them in a new comment, set them as a watcher etc, in different circumstances/rules that I may make.

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 5, 2021

Hi @Kyle Quevillon @Kian Stack Mumo Systems 

I can also confirm that {{issue.project.lead}} is indeed null.

If this is blocking you then while Atlassian fixes it may be use this method to get the lead using REST API.

Send a web request.

JIRAURL/rest/api/3/project/{{issue.project.key}}

Make sure to check "Delay execution of subsequent rule actions until we've received a response for this webhook".

Then in the next component you can access lead information using:

{{webhookResponse.body.lead.displayName}}

Not ideal way of doing it but I thought it might be useful.

Ravi

Robert Horan
Solutions Partner
Solution Partners provide consulting, sales, and technical services on Atlassian products.
April 15, 2021

I just used {{issue.project.lead}} in a rule to assign issues to the project lead and it worked just fine as far as I can tell.