JIRA and Bitbucket Integration

Peter Acevski August 8, 2016

I am new to JIRA and I am new to Bitbucket. Further, I have little experience with GIT.

I run a small Web Development company and I want to switch to GIT/Bitbucket and JIRA because we are scaling up and I am sold on how fantastic this product can be at managing my projects and future projects.

I am however very confused about how JIRA and Bitbucket talk to each other.

I will try to explain how I think this should work.

My company currently employs 4 people including myself.

The company owns a JIRA instance that is being hosted by Atlassian/In the cloud.

We are a web development firm.

3 of the employees are developers. 1 of those developers is me.

Now,

Should I make my developers create Bitbucket accounts specifically just for my company/work? Or can/should they use their personal bitbucket accounts?

I am one of the developers. I currently have a personal bitbucket account and I have linked it to the company JIRA through the DVCS account link.

Does 1 JIRA user have a corresponding Bitbucket account?

If my developers have Bitbucket accounts, how do I add them to my organisation in JIRA/Bitbucket so that I can control company projects and assign developers to projects?

When I create a new project in BitBucket, how does that project get reflected in JIRA, does it just automatically become a new project? Does the same occur vice-versa, that is, if I create a new project in JIRA, can it become a new repository/project in Bitbucket?

I am very confused in how to set this up for my business in a best practice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Chris Dunne
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 9, 2016

I agree - it is quite confusing.