JIRA DB - How can I externally connect to JIRA DB?

Hi - I am relatively new to JIRA. In the past I have used HP QC.

Can someone please help me with the following questions on JIRA DB:

- What type of DB does JIRA use?

- Is it possible to connect to this DB via an external tool - such as Sqlserver or even MS Excel (via a database connection)?

My aim to establish a read-only connection to JIRA DB to draw some analytics.

Thanks,

JT

2 answers

0 votes

The database behind it could be anything - it will run on any database that supports a jdbc connection, but you will find almost all installations will be on PostGres, MySQL/Maria, Oracle or MS SQL Server, as those are the only supported databases.

You can connect to it like any other database, but, don't.

That is a fantastically bad idea - database access to JIRA is the single worst approach to reporting from it.

The database is not designed for reporting at all.  To take a simple example, "read all the data from an issue" could require joins with 40 different tables, many of them 2-3 layers deep and many of them done multiple times.

You run the risk of running queries which will put such a drag on the server, it affects performance.

Please, use the REST API to get data, or get one of the proper reporting add-ons, the ones that intrinsically understand the JIRA database and have a proper data model for it.

0 votes
Thomas Schlegel Community Champion Aug 02, 2017

Hi JT,

you can find the supported databases here:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver071/supported-platforms-802592168.html

Of course, you can read data out of the Jira-database from other clients too, but in general, it is not easy to create reasonable reports from the plain jira database. You need a deep understanding of the relations in the Jira database. I would also advice to create reports on a copy of your database, so you don't edit or delete some data accidentally...