JIRA CSS - font family, font color in Activity Stream and dashboard gadgets

Sean Diggins February 27, 2012

Windows Server 2008R2, JIRA 5 standalone.

I'm not a java developer, so I dont fully grok all of JIRAs internal dependencies (but I do know how to edit the contents of runtime jar archives). For the last year I've really wanted to change the font properties for the text content within the Activity Stream gadget, the Projects gadget and the Favourite Filters gadget.

I know where the main css files are located and I've been successful in editing css in all the other sections of JIRA - I'm reasonably adept at using Firebug and identifying what needs editing, but of course this is made harder when css files are generated at runtime.

Our company uses "Trebuchet MS" with specific branding colors. So I've managed to get most of JIRA to conform to our style guide, except for text content within the three bundled gadgets I've listed. No matter what I do, the font family is stuck at "Arial, Sans Serif" and the font colors are stuck at JIRA defaults.

I've GREP'd and S&R'd to no avail, including editing plugin css with the bundled plugins archive (I've followed correct procedure for this)

In my opinion, the Activity Stream is pretty much unreadable when Arial is the font, so I dont only want to change the font to suit our branding - I want the Activity Stream to be easy to read.

I was hoping this would be easier with JIRA 5, but it seems this aspect of JIRA's css hasnt been improved......

Anyone know how?

Thanks!

Sean

5 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Sean Curtis
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 6, 2012

Hi Sean,