Issues - Resolution: Unsolved - displays task status 'done'

neosmart January 15, 2014

Hey, I am new to JIRA and try to understand the difference between: 'solved' and 'done'

I can display all unresolved issues of a project. But all my done issues are displayed. I can't set status 'resolved' to my issues. What am I doing wrong?

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 15, 2014

That's actually quite difficult to explain, because "solved" and "done" are definitions that are up to the end user, not the software.

Generally, "done" really does mean "no one needs to do any more work on this". I don't know what you mean by "solved" (and it's not something that appears in Jira off-the-shelf), so you might want to explain your meaning, or what you want from it.

Anyway, on your second question, a brief explanation of what's happening:

Jira has a resolution field. Jira uses this to say "issue is unresolved/resolved" or, "not done/done" if you like. If the resolution is empty in the database, Jira displays "unresolved". If the resolution is filled in with any word(s) at all, Jira displays the issue with that data, and strikes out the issue key display and considers it resolved (or done).

My best guess is that you've changed your workflow in some way that stops Jira asking the users to fill in a resolution when your issue moves into your "done" status.