Is there a way to import users from csv file in jira?

ShamhoonJ March 8, 2013

I am new to jira, everytime I need to give access to a user I need to manually create them, it there a way to automate from a feed file?

5 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Bob Swift OSS (Bob Swift Atlassian Apps)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 8, 2013

1. JIRA Command Line Interface has a couple of ways. You can use the addUser action. Use that in combination with the runFromCsv action. The csv file will need a header row something like:
userId, userEmail, userFullName, userPassword

An example would be

jira --action runFromCsv --common "--action addUser" --file my.csv

Andrian F January 6, 2017

Hi Bob,

Will this allow us to add users to different "User Directories" ? or this works only for Iira-Internal Directory ?

Thanks

Andrian

Philipp Messerli June 4, 2021

Hi,

I just tried it but only receive this error:

Client error: Invalid url: /rest/api/latest/field

What is not correct ?

Thanks

Philipp

0 votes
IT MayaHTT April 7, 2015

Hi Linus,

Yes you can do it, make sure you CSV has the following columns in a specific order :

userId, userEmail, userFullName, userPassword

If you don't fill UserPassword column it will generate a generic password.

Download JIRA Cli on your JIRA machine https://bobswift.atlassian.net/wiki/display/JCLI/Downloads

Extract you package on your JIRA machine and grant execute permission on Jira.sh script (chmod +x jira-cli/jira.sh)

Make sure you can connect to the server by editing jira.sh settings, should look like the following :

/opt/atlassian/jira/jre/bin/java -jar `dirname $0`/lib/jira-cli-4.0.0-SNAPSHOT.jar --server http://localhost:8080 --user admin_usr --password=root_password "$@"