Is there a SIMPLE way to create a report that shows the number of tickets created per month for a specified time period?

Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 28, 2015

Using relative time (last x days/months/millenia/etc) is not helpful.  I have been asked to generate a report in bar graph form (which I assume I will need to use a separate tool for once I have the numbers) of tickets created per month, by type.  I can't find any way to do this in Jira.

Before throwing Script Runner out there please understand I am not a programmer.

By the way, for any of you doing date based searches, you may want to look at this:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/30949194

6 answers

1 vote
Bryan McMillan August 28, 2015

Robert,

Yes there indeed is.  You can use the following JQL key words of:

• currentLogin()
  • endOfDay()
  • endOfMonth()
  • endOfWeek()
  • endOfYear()
  • lastLogin()
  • now()
  • startOfDay()
  • startOfMonth()
  • startOfWeek()
  • startOfYear()

In a fashion similar to this using JQL from within the Advanced (vice Basic) view under Issues --> Search for Issues:

Project = MyProject AND resolutiondate > startOfMonth() ORDER BY updated

Where MyProject is the name of one of your specific projects in Jira.  You can also leave that off if you wish to pull that same information from all projects you have access to in Jira.

Hope this helps,

Bryan

Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 28, 2015

I'll give this a try, thanks!

Rob Horan
Rising Star
Rising Star
August 28, 2015

The only problem is that only works on a month at a time. I need to span a year, maybe two.

Rob Horan
Rising Star