Is it possible to restrict workflow status options based on Issue type?

Brock Klein May 12, 2014

Hello all,

I'm new to Jira and Atlassian products in general but am impressed so far.

After much research and seaching I have a question, though. Is it possible to restrict workflow options based on an Issue type?

E.g., someone creates a new issue with type "Detail Required" and it has a workflow option of being moved into "In Progress", but if someone does the same action (creating a new issue) except with type "Bug" the workflow option is "Awaiting Review".

In the workflow creator both items would start with the "Open" status as the issue is created, but the actual path of the issue ought to vary depending on the issue type.

Does it make sense to use workflows in that way and, if so, could someone share how to restrict the workflow based on Issue type?

Many thanks!

Brock

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
BenjiI
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 12, 2014

Hi Brock,

Have a look at this thread:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/282293/can-jira-workflow-status-change-based-on-past-due-date

Here I describe how you can take a different workflow transition, based on a due date value in this case. Of course you can reuse this example for issue type values.

BenjiI
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 12, 2014