Internal error when uploading file to jira issue

Helen Griffiths October 24, 2016

We have a user who is unable to upload a file (1kb in size) to a JIRA issue, however as a system admin, I am able to. When he attempts to upload the file, he gets the following error:

'File <FileName> was not uploaded. An internal error has occurred. Please contact your administrator'

I've checked other Atlassian answers questions, such as this and this, however this is not the problem we're having. Our attachment size limit is set to 10MB so a file size of 1KB shouldn't be an issue...

Any assistance would be appreciated smile

9 answers

3 votes
Openbank 911 December 19, 2018

In our case it was nginx. By default it rejected content more than 10 mb.

Jaroslav Pavlicek April 3, 2019

I can confirm, in my case default nginx setup rejected 2.1MB word file.

Like Aleksandr Ilin likes this
0 votes
Sc GPS October 26, 2021

Solutions:
1. vi /usr/local/nginx/conf/nginx.conf
In http {},
modify
client_max_body_size 10m;
to
client_max_body_size 100m;

In location /jira { }
modify
client_max_body_size 10m;
to
client_max_body_size 100m;

2. Restart Nginx server.
It will be ok.

0 votes
Cercel Silviu July 26, 2019

I had the same issue with a .png file. I just changed the extension to .jpg and it worked.

Cmbyc March 22, 2021

This works!! I also met the issue with a .png file, it is resolved by changing the file to .jpg.

0 votes
Paul Wright September 18, 2018

We had this issue and found it to be a firewall restriction on our side.  Not an issue since rules amended.
We also recently discovered that config in Jira SD should be 50% of ram availability, else performance could be hampered.  (Only mentioning as a FYI)

David September 9, 2019

What was the firewall restriction? Is there a different port in use during file upload other than 8080?

Cercel Silviu September 9, 2019

What is the extension of your file ?

David September 9, 2019