Internal error when uploading file to jira issue

We have a user who is unable to upload a file (1kb in size) to a JIRA issue, however as a system admin, I am able to. When he attempts to upload the file, he gets the following error:

'File <FileName> was not uploaded. An internal error has occurred. Please contact your administrator'

I've checked other Atlassian answers questions, such as this and this, however this is not the problem we're having. Our attachment size limit is set to 10MB so a file size of 1KB shouldn't be an issue...

Any assistance would be appreciated smile

3 answers

0 votes

Could you check the log?  It usually has more details which can help!

Hi @Nic Brough [Adaptavist]

Yes, I've had a look at the logs (atlassian-JIRA and std-err), but as I expected, it doesn't tell me anything about why this is happening...sad

If there's an "internal error", it should have logged something, even just the act of having an internal error.  If there's absolutely nothing, then it's something on the browser side which is failing (lost network connection?)

Hi @Nic Brough [Adaptavist]

There's not a lot in the log, i've looked thoroughly. He is now getting a different error whereby it's saying 'Browser made bad request to the server' which appears to be something cookie related... maybe...i've asked him to clear his browser cookies, but he's still getting the error and unable to upload the file.

I've raised a call with Atlassian for a bit of guidance too, but thank you for coming back to me.

Hi,

change your computer registry

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.sql\Content Type from "text\plain" to "text/plain"

Hi,

You can use FireBug to examine the request  and to see more information.

The problem is probably the content-type of your file. See the request to know this information

Worth checking the file too (keeping things simple).

If the file is protected (or in Edit Mode in PDF) it may not upload.