Installing Confluence breaks Jira logins

David Kirkwood February 17, 2019

Hi All,

I have been a Jira admin for many years and have installed several systems, but I am stumped now.

I have been trying to set up a Jira/Confluence installation to use as a records system for a school in Uganda. Jira installs and sets up correctly and is stable and usable over extended periods.

On trying to install Confluence, however, it instantly breaks the Jira logins - it is no longer possible to log in to Jira with any ID (500 error -

com.atlassian.crowd.exception.runtime.UserNotFoundException: User <dak> does not exist

) and the Confluence installation never passes the user stage.

The problem appears to happen at the exact point of telling Confluence how to manage user logins and it does not matter if it is local or via Jira, the results are always exactly the same.

Confluence installs correctly stand-alone, but even trying to use different databases for Jira and Confluence has not helped.

Does anyone have any ideas, please?

System

My own VPS running Ubuntu 16.04 or 18.04, always reinstalled and updated before installation. Jira 7 or 8, Confluence 6.12 or 6.14. All combinations have been tried, the results are always the same. 

Edited to mention Postgres 10

3 answers

0 votes
David Kirkwood March 3, 2019

Right, it's been a couple of weeks now, so here's an update.

It's still not working. As before, Jira installs without any problems, but installing Confluence breaks all Jira logins.

I have now attempted this on three different hosts, using Ubuntu 16.04 and 18.04. One host complained about the Postgres character set during the Confluence install but I fixed that and it made no difference.

I'm now about to try with Centos 7, about which I know very little, bu tit seems to be Atlassian's OS of choice.

I'll keep you posted.

dak

0 votes
Marty
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 17, 2019