I need to hide/Grey out a field based on another field

Akil R September 28, 2022

Hi team,

When i create a issue task i have a drop down for Task type with LOV as Open solutions, RAID, others. Next field is RAID-Type with LOV as Risk, Action, Issue, Dependency. When the task type is RAID then the RAID-Type field should be visible if not the RAID-Type field should be greyed out.

As i am not good with coding i am not able to get this done. Would appreciate your help in this.

2 answers

1 vote
Dave Mathijs
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 28, 2022

Hi @Akil R welcome to the Atlassian Community!

You won't be able to do this in Jira Cloud natively.

You'll need a third-party app like Extension for Jira Service Management or ScriptRunner for Jira to accomplish this.

ok. I have Scriptrunner for JIRA. 
But i dono hw to add the code for this.

Kate Pawlak _Appsvio_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 28, 2022

@Akil R if you need a solution for Jira, not Jira Service Management, the Extension app doesn't work. Dynamic Forms configured in this app work only on the customer portal.

Like Dave Mathijs likes this

@Kate Pawlak _Appsvio_ oh ok.
So basically one field cannot be managed based on other fields in this case? even with the scriptrunner?

Kate Pawlak _Appsvio_
Community Leader
Community Leader
September 28, 2022

Using Extension - no, because it works on the customer portal, not in Jira on the Create issue view.