How to structure multi-levels waterfall projects?

lucale September 26, 2021

Hi,

I have some experience in project management and I need to know how to best configure a project structure in Jira.

Normally, I handle about 100 waterfall projects per year, that can be gathered into 5 main groups.

My first question is: do I have to create all the 100 projects or only 5 "macro-projects" and create the 100 projects in a different way?

Take into account that a single waterfall project can contain some layers and the real tasks are indented into these layers, and a new project: how to do this structure and set the projects?

Other information: a new project starts usually with a structure similar to an existing one, so it could be useful replicate easily the extisting project by copying it.

2 answers

2 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Jacob Vu
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 26, 2021

Hi @lucale

You'd create 5 Jira projects and then each project that you manage can be an epic. Big pieces of work can be stories and then smaller pieces of work can be tasks or sub-tasks. That's generally how I would structure the hierarchy. Check out our post on hierarchies here. 

If you're starting projects that are similar in nature and have similar tasks, you can always create a template so that these tasks auto-populate to save you work.

If you need more help, this is something that I provide as a service as I am a heavy Jira user and work as a Project Manager as well.

Hope this helps.

Jacob

lucale September 26, 2021

Hi @Jacob Vu 

the structure you propose is interesting, but it arises more questions:

1. how do you manage the Epic with 3 or more layers? Do you create a Story under a Story and finally the subtask?