How to set up auto re-index in Jira

salahudin911 August 20, 2012

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Confluence / Jira and i've been struggling to set up auto re-indexing of Jira. I was told by Confluence support to download the Confluence Command Line Interface plugin but haven't a clue how to implement this tool in CentOS. Isn't there perhaps a layman's how-to manual to show me the way? My background is Microsoft so...enough said :)

Regards

4 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Jason Hensler
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 6, 2012
3 votes
Razeen Brown May 5, 2013

Hi there,

There are so many customers enquiring about auto-indexing, why doesn't Atlassian just build their new Jira releases with auto-indexing built in?

Regards

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 5, 2013

There aren't actually many asking about it.

Having to re-index the whole system is unusual, and thinking "we should do this regularly" is simply patching over a problem you should really be trying to fix the root cause of.

Sysadmin May 25, 2016

However, any changes done to the plugins require you to perform a re-index on the machine which is not that practical when you have to perform the re-index when the employees leave the office. Performing a background index will decrease the perofrmance on the system... so that is not an option.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 25, 2016