How to separate task completion on dev side and QA verification processes?

Noa Resheff November 8, 2014

Hello,

I am a project manager working for a mobile app startup company, organizing our dev tasks in JIRA sprints.

I am wondering how can I separate DEV side and QA verification processes for sprints measurement purposes.

Today we have a workflow that looks something like this: new bug / task -> DEV fix (ready for QA) -> QA approved (done). 

This causes a situation in which I compile a sprint with several issues, which are counted as completed only when QA approved (naturally). I would like to change that though, so it will be possible to count issues completed by dev in each sprint (currently they are being pushed to the next sprint until completed by QA).

However, I don't want to consider the DEV fix status as done since it isn't.

Can you recommend a solution?

Thanks very much,

Noa

1 answer

1 vote
Norman Abramovitz
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 9, 2014

Create an overall issue which has a separate sub-tasks for design, coding, QA, documentation, system test, deployment or whatever your breakdown needs to be.   Each sub task can have its own issue-type/workflow. 

In this way each group can have their own workflow and these workflows are parallelized.    Each sub-issue can be resolved and the overall issue only when resolved when all the sub-issues are resolved.

You will need to move the parent issue into the sprint and the subtasks will show up in the sprint.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Creating+a+Sub-Task#CreatingaSub-Task-workingWorkingwithsub-tasks

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/85897