How to remove/ hide closed issues from backlog

I can still see closed issues from the previous completed sprint from my backlog.

this is my first time to use Jira as a PM tool. i created my first sprint and successfully completed it by hitting the complete button.

unfortunately there are some tasks that not yet resolve or still in progress.something in the system pop up and saying that do I want to put all the on going tasks to backlog, i choose yes. after clicking the ok button, all of my tasks from my previous sprint appears in my backlog and i cant remove them from that list.

what am i supposed and right thing to do?

Thanks in advance

4 answers

1 accepted

This widget could not be displayed.

When you complete a sprint, all the issues you have not finished are, by definition, not done with, so they need to go either into another sprint, or back into your backlog.  They still need action, so you need to keep them somewhere that shows them as needing work.

Only issues that are in the far right-hand column of your working board will be seen as "done" by the sprint when you close it.

Oh i see. so how can tag them now as done? based on the workflow i created, i only have inprogress-code review-for QA -closed.

is closed status is equal to done?

thanks in advance

You need to get them into the far right hand column of your board, and then close the sprint.

Boards and sprints do not use the resolution at all, and only really use status to determine which column an issue is in.  What matters to them is the right-hand column.

Hi Nic,

I attached a screenshot of my backlog, you can see list of issues came from the my previous closed sprint.

please also note that all of this issues were already closed before i closed the said sprint.

Is there any way to remove this issues from my backlog? all issues are all technically done and the sprint is already closed.

Closed issues from backlog.JPG