How to move the status of a parent issue by changing the status for one of the sub-tasks.

Andre March 26, 2019

Hi experts.

I am a freshman and never worked with the JMWE before. But I know that the add-on seems to be the solution.

I have:

Jira Server 7.10.1

JMWE 6.0.0

For you it might be easy but I was even not able to find a solution within the community of somewhere else.

I found something comparable but the explanation is not enough for me. An it is cloud based and therefore not the solution as well.

To come into action I need a very detailed how to guideline or video where it is explained very well.

Target should be to change the status of a User Story by changing their sub-tasks.

• Should subtaskA be IN PROGRESS and subtaskB be TO DO, then the parent issue status should be IN PROGRESS.
  • Should subtaskA be DONE and subtaskB be TO DO, the parent issues should be IN PROGRESS.
  • Should subtaskA be DONE and subtaskB be IN PROGRESS, the parent issues should be IN PROGRESS.
  • Should subtaskA be DONE and subtaskB be DONE, the parent issues should be DONE.

Is there someone out there to help me a bit.

Thank you in advance.

2 answers

1 vote
David Fischer
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 27, 2019

The first thing to remember is that, in Jira, you never modify (set) the Status of an issue, you transition it to the desired status. Which means that you always need a transition from the current status of the issue to the desired status, and that is the transition you trigger to take the issue to the new status. This is true both manually and when you automate things using post-functions.

That said, what you want is this: