How to model Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) in JIRA?

Nancy Ell
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
November 15, 2018

We have multiple Agile Release Trains, but are just trying to use JIRA for Essential SAFe at this stage for each Train.  Does each train become their own project?  

Then each project will have its own Program level backlog (Jira Epic/SAFe feature)?  

How to give visibility to executives?  Can each project provide summary at higher level?  We tried Portfolio but it was too confusing.  Would Structure be a better choice?  

Looking for any guidance.  Thank you

6 answers

7 votes
Philip Heijkoop _ALM Works_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
November 26, 2018

Hi Nancy,

My name is Phil, full disclosure; I'm a solutions engineer at ALM Works (we make Structure for Jira) and am also SPC certified.

We've seen our customers implement Essential SAFe in a few different ways, their journey to scaling agile in their organization is very dependent on where their organization already is and more specifically, depends on how their Jira was already set up.

We don't recommend each ART to be given their own project, though you could do it that way. A good resource to look at would be this Atlassian blog post about Scaling Agile.  It has a lot of useful suggestions and in true agile fashion you can take what works for you and leave what doesn't.

The resource you've found gives a few more good ideas on how to move forward, but some of their Structure-related content is a bit outdated. So if you would like to try Structure for your visualization needs, I'd be happy to go over the more salient features and discuss any implementation questions you may have.