How to map tasks to a Story?

I am new to Jira and trying to implement simple Scrum:

Epic > User Story > Tasks.

Where the Story has the same workflow as the Tasks.  If one of the Story's tasks in a spring, so is the Story... and when all associated tasks are done, Story is Done.

Actually, in an ideal world I'd have: Epic> Story > Criteria > tasks.

Unfortunately, in all my search, I've only found that Jira supports:

Epics > User Stories > Subtasks

... and these Subtasks don't even show up in the backlog view !!

This seems like obvious functionality that I must be missing... can someone point me in the right direction?

Any help would be appreciated.

If the answer involves "experience programming"... that's fine. Please tell me what needs to get done and I'll hire someone :).

Thanks,

-Ed

2 answers

0 votes

Hi Ed,

I suggest you to read this thread, maybe it can help you but it isn't what you are asking for:

https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Jira-Core-questions/epic-vs-story-vs-task/qaq-p/204224

Thanks for the suggested reading.  Yes, creating an Epic from and Epic is possible but no way to relate both Epics to each other unless you do it manually for each Epic, much like how you need to relate a Task to a Story manually for each Task.

Jira seems like an immensely powerful tool with customizable issues, workflows, screen, schemes etc.  but it seems to be falling down flat on its face on this most basic functionality.   And it seems users have been asking for this for years (from articles I have seen in my due-diligence).

What a bummer.

-Ed

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Sarah Schuster
Posted Jan 29, 2018 in Jira

What are common themes you've seen across successful & failed Jira Software implementations?

Hey everyone! My name is Sarah Schuster, and I'm a Customer Success Manager in Atlassian specializing in Jira Software Cloud. Over the next few weeks I will be posting discussion topics (8 total) to ...

3,009 views 12 18
Join discussion