How to manually upgrade Jira from 7.13 to 8.5

Kelvin Tuggle February 17, 2021

I found documentation. But I am new to this product suite.  I'm a strong Linux person.  Before I perform the upgrade, I'm trying to find out how this Environment is configured: database (type and location); applications (confluence, other products); Trying to understand the dependencies and associations.

I know I have to perform a manual install and can really use any documentation that explains the best way to migrate from Jira v7.13 to v8.5.

By the way, my environment is not connected to the public domain.  

Kelvin

2 answers

0 votes
Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 20, 2021

Hi @Kelvin Tuggle

from the answers Laurens already gave I can see you have received many useful and true tips already.

For your question:

Unfortunately I am not clear on "How the Suite of Applications" interact with each other and their dependencies.

This could be split up in a two-sided answer. From a users view each application adds value to the whole picture - Confluence enhances the users's experiencing providing a knowledge base, or a wiki-solution, like some say.
From a technical view, like Laurens said, there are Application Links between the applications. They were invented to let all the applications exchange data between them.

When aiming for an upgrade of, let's say, Jira - or Confluence - they will work afterwards like they did before the upgrade.

One hint that comes to my mind, though:
Assuming Jira and Confluence (or any of the other applications you mentioned, like Bamboo or Bitbucket) can be upgraded independently - however, if they share one database host which is on a specific version make sure this is compatible with the version of the application you want to upgrade to.