How to limit viewing or editing issue to roles and only in some steps

Francesco R
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 8, 2013

Hello,
I'm really a newbie with jira workflows and I'm bogged down in this issue.
In my workflow I've (let's say) 4 steps A,B,C,D and 2 teams (=group/role) Team1 and Team2.
Team1 can only edit fields in steps A and B and Team 2 can only edit (different) fields while the created issue is in steps C and D of the workflow
If I give the permission to edit issue to group/role of Team2, it can edit ALL the field of the issue, also the ones edited by the Team1 during the steps A and B, but these fields should be frozen.
I'm also thinking to solutions like 2 sub-tasks (but maybe I will have the same problem) or to use security schemes (I never used them before).
Which could be a good solution for this problem?
Thank you

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
RambanamP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 8, 2013

check this

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Workflow+Properties

http://www.j-tricks.com/1/post/2011/02/permissions-based-on-workflow-status.html

to resrtrict edit permission for project role, configure as follows

Property Key:jira.permission.edit.projectrole

Property Value: 10010

Francesco R
Rising Star
Rising Star
July 14, 2013

Maybe I'm doing something wrong.

In my workflow I assigned the permission to Edit Issue to the roles Role1 and Role2. Then in step B, I assigned the property:

jira.permission.edit.projectrole (key)
Role1 (value)

'cos I want that in step B only role Role1 has to be able to edit the issue