How to include time tracking epic and story and task

koteswararao May 19, 2019

How to include time tracking epic and story and task,

under epic + story and task

2 answers

4 votes
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 20, 2019

Hello Koteswararao,

I understand that you are trying to sum up the time tracking of your Stories and tasks and add them to their common Linked Epic. Have I understood it correctly?

If that's what you meant, It is not possible to achieve this feature using only JIRA inbuilt features, however, the Epic Sum Up add-on give exactly what you are looking for.

Please, check if this add-on would be an option for you.

Additionally, feel free to vote and watch the feature requests below raised to add this functionality to JIRA to increase its priority and also receive notifications about any updates:

Sum story points or hour estimates for any epic links

- As an Admin, I would like the Time Tracking Report to relate between the epic and its child stories

Vitor Seabra December 14, 2021

This is crazy. You have the same logic for subtasks and their parents, but not for epics children. And as I can see people are requesting it since 2013... It's lack of interest from Jira's side.

Like # people like this
Andreas Haaken _APTIS_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
December 14, 2021

Hi @Vitor Seabra ,

there are some things going on at this. Atlassian announced to deprecate some of the link types to use only the parent link so that this can be used for all connections.. 

But just to understand your reply: what is the benefit of using the same logic for subtasks and issue parental links? 

I am asking because we want top understand the needs of Users to put support for this into Epic Sum Up.

cheers 

Andreas

Vitor Seabra December 14, 2021