How to ensure a field is properly filled before ticket creation?

Deleted user September 22, 2021

hi all

i am a beginner with JIRA.

I would like to make sure when creating a bug that thi one is linked to an specific existing issue.

To do so, i was able to make compulsary the field linked issue.

The point where i am stuck is that in the dropdown list i have, different types of item are listed : BUG - EPIC - STORY ...

I would like to make sure, before creating the ticket, that the linked issue is of a certain type (Tasks) from a dedicated project?

thanks

3 answers

0 votes
Deleted user October 13, 2021

Is it feasible through a behaviour to check the content of the field "issue":

Capture.JPG

something like :

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
//import com.atlassian.jira.issue.fields.CustomField

boolean output = false
// store into a variable named linkedIssue the content of the field Linked Issue
String linkedIssue = getFieldByName('Linked Issues')

// check whether the linked issue starts with PRJ- => if no issue
if((linkedIssue.substring(0,3)!="PRJ-")){
output= false
}
else{
output= true
}

return output

0 votes
Narendra Kumar September 23, 2021

Hi @[deleted]  welcome to atlassian community!

You will see an option in workflow of Jira to apply validator on specific transition. If you want, you can set it on "Create" transition to check if specific field is having the correct value or not. 

For example, if you want to check the field should be given only number value, see here https://confluence.atlassian.com/jirakb/using-workflow-regular-expression-check-validator-to-restrict-text-field-in-number-format-859509784.html

In general way - you can use "Field Required Validator" to check if field is not EMPTY. See here https://support.atlassian.com/jira-cloud-administration/docs/use-workflow-validators-with-custom-fields/

Also, there are some add-on which are really helpful to create validation of custom format.