How to create a dashboard that breaks down category of work by story points NOT # of issues

Drina Minott
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
May 7, 2024

I am a product manager who would like to easily plan my sprints by using a dashboard view that breaks down a sprints category of work by story points. Right now I have a view that only breaks it down by the number of issues (stories/tasks/spikes/etc.). I would like to know how much effort/resources/value I'm adding to each sprint which is more accurately calculated by story points (b/c of the way my team uses story points). How can I create the filter to then use for a graph in Jira? 

4 answers

1 vote
Amay Purohit_RVS
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 9, 2024

Hi @Drina Minott 

Welcome to the community !!

If you are ok to consider a mktplace app to help with this use case, you can try out the one we have developed for the same use case. 

Capacity Planner

The app allows to store the capacity and view the no of story points completed by each team member over the course of the sprint. This can be added as a dashboard gadget too. Do try it out.

Disclaimer : I am part of the team which developed this app

TeamMember_Tasks.png

1 vote
Hannes Obweger - JXL for Jira
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
May 7, 2024

Hi @Drina Minott

just to add to Laura's answer: If you are open to solutions from the Atlassian Marketplace, you'll find a number of apps that can help with creating various kinds of sprint reports or breakdowns. 

E.g., I believe you might like the app that my team and I are working on, JXL for Jira.