How to create a custom filter in board in Next Gen project

Harris Kaldis January 17, 2019

The situation:

In my tasks I have created a dropdown with 5 different values.

In my kanban board, I would like to filter the tasks based on the values of the dropdown list. 

The problem is that i cannot find a way to create this filter.

2 answers

0 votes
Tara L Conklin September 13, 2019

@Petter Gonçalves  - I do hope the filter function is added to the Next-Gen. I did vote for the issue. 

Question: I am a new administrator to Jira and do need to create a private board that contains a custom filter. How do I make a private classic project?

Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 13, 2019

Hello Tara,

Basically, the permissions to access/see Classic project issues are configured by its permission scheme, more specifically with the Browser Project permission. Of course, it has more granular permission options than Next-gen (Who can create issues, log work, transition issues, administer project, etc).

So that's what you would need to do in order to make your project private:

1 - Navigate to your project > Project Settings > People and add all the users that should access the project to any role you want (JIRA-Software, for example)

2 - Once you do it, navigate to your project > Project Settings > Permissions 

3 - Add the role that you added all the users in People tab in the Browse Projects permission

4 - Remove the "Application access (Any logged in user)" from the Browse project permissions together with all other groups/roles that are not relevant. P.S: The atlassian-addons-project-access is related to the add-ons permission, so you must keep it in your permission scheme.

5 - Check the other permissions that the users must have and keep adding the role you created to it, removing the ones that should not be able to do it.

Let me know if you have any questions.