How to assign an issue to multiple assignees

Ramya Pendem September 20, 2018

Hi I am Ramya. I am new to JIRA. Please advise me how to assign an issue to multiple assignees.

4 answers

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

18 votes
Vik Chopra
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
September 28, 2021

The ability to assign multiple task owners should be added to Jira, agile scrum at a minimum.

Collaboration is enshrined in both the agile manifesto and scrum guide and part of the DNA.. shared understanding, shared ownership, the best ideas come from developers and the business people working together daily, and the list goes on.

Shared ownership is a good thing! Beyond the active build stage, shared ownership can also be seen as shared recognition when a piece launches. 

This would also enable stakeholders to have contingency or backup for a POC or if the previous task lead left the company.

In other applications where scrum is used for example Creative, it would be very beneficial for a landing page for eg. to be lead by both a writer and a designer. It feels like Jira is pushing a hierarchical approach.

Gotta respect the core agile principles and values if you expect people to use a product that labels itself "agile" & "scrum" prominently.

If it fundamentally or theoretically contradicts with something, why not just add it as an a settings toggle? There are settings for a million other things in there already!

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 28, 2021

I think you've completely missed the point here.