How to Use JQl to color cards

Stephen Fell September 13, 2017

Hey Everyone, 

I'm new to Jira and im trying to get the most out of the tool and wanted to use the "card colours" feature so i can colour cards in the activity sprint view to change colour based on a field called "due date" however having never used JQL and being new to Jira im unsure where to start, essentially im trying to achieve the following:

• Colour = RED when the the due date of the card is today or within 3 days 
  • Colour = Amber when the due date of the card is within 5 days of today
  • Colour = Green when the due date of the card is 6 or more days  from today

Any help you can offer to help me achieve the above outcome would be much appreciated. 

Thanks 

4 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 13, 2017

You will need to have project Admin rights to do this.

Go to Board settings and click on Card colours. From the dropdown select Queries, then add your JQL for each different colour. N.B. the order is important because it will use the first colour where the condition matches, so drag the items to reorder.

Stephen Fell September 13, 2017

Thanks for the reply. 

Ive got that far the bit I'm struggling with is what JQL code I need to use to make it happen 

Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 13, 2017

Ah, let's try and get that sorted then.

Colour = RED. The JQL is  duedate <= 3d

Colour = Amber. The JQL is duedate <= 5d

Colour = Green. The JQL is duedate <= 6d

I think I'm right in saying that they need to be done in this order, but play around with it and see