How do you add whitelists in JIRA

jacob.blackwell November 22, 2019

I want to be able to request data from my JIRA (https://domain.atlassian.com) via Javascript running on my SharePoint site (//InternalDomain/) but have been getting blocked due to the cross-domain nature of this request:

Access to XMLHttpRequest at 'http://domain.atlassian.net/rest/agile/1.0/1/backlog?startAt=0&maxResults=15' from origin 'http://InternalDomain' has been blocked by CORS policy: Response to preflight request doesn't pass access control check: Redirect is not allowed for a preflight request.

Based on all my research there should be a white-list option in the general settings of JIRA. I can't find it nor can any other of my admins. (I am a system admin myself.) The closest I can find for an explanation is doing it in confluence:
https://confluence.atlassian.com/doc/configuring-the-whitelist-381255821.html

However, those steps do not work, in confluence or JIRA or anywhere else I have looked.

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 25, 2019

Hello Jacob,

Welcome to Atlassian Community. sorry to hear you are facing this problem.

I see that you have tagged this question with JIRA Cloud. Is this the environment you have?

If that's correct, I can confirm to you that the whitelist option you are looking for is only available for JIRA Server application, which is the one related in the documentation you provided.

For Jira Cloud, the domain whitelist is not available yet for security reasons. We haven't yet been able to spend time developing a pattern for supporting this in JIRA Cloud, but we do intend to work on this at some point in the future. You can see a detailed explanation about this in the feature request below:

Allow cross-domain requests for CORS