How do I move issues from one board to another

Timothy Wood July 30, 2014

I want to create a new board and move issues from an existing board

4 answers

7 votes
Craig Buche March 29, 2019

Since none of these answers were terribly useful for me since I'm not a project manager who may regularly create boards to help visualize the current work (I grab existing tickets, make new ones, and that's about it) maybe this will help someone. 

It doesn't matter what board you create your ticket on.  The boards just show tickets based on a filter/query.  The ticket just has to match all the parameters that board is filtering on.  What/where is this board filter?  There's currently a "Board" drop down in the top right of the page where you can select a "Configure" option that will show you the current "Filter Query" for that board.  Update your ticket to match that filter, and you should be good to go.

2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 30, 2014

You don't.

Boards are views of lists of issues, they don't hold any issues really. To "move" an issue, you change the boards. You should create your new board, and make sure it includes the issues you want to "move". Then go to the existing board, and change the filter so it no longer includes the issues.

essentia.essien April 15, 2018

I believe the question is how do you ensure the issues you created on a wrong board appears on your new board without manual rewrite of same issue? or how do you export issues from a wrong board to the right board without duplication of writing task?

Like # people like this
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 15, 2018