How do I delete an issue filter in JIRA?

Ed July 31, 2018

I'm a software developer who uses JIRA on a daily basis. I created a filter, but named it badly when I saved it. I was able to copy it under a new name and fix the criteria, but I want to delete the original filter now. The Atlassian documentation is of no help because what it describes is different than my interface.

How can I delete a bad filter from my filters list? I can find no filter management ability in the "new, improved" interface and clicking the JIRA icon only shows me a project dashboard, with no option to get to an configuration settings. Can anyone help me get rid of one stupid filter?

5 answers

1 accepted

6 votes
Answer accepted
Alexey Matveev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 31, 2018

Hello,

That is how you can delete a shared filter, if you have the Jira administrator permission:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiracloud/managing-shared-filters-818578900.html

To delete your private filter open the magnifying glass icon and then choose the View all filters option:

Untitled.pngAfter it you will see a list of your filters. You will be able to delete any of them.

Ed July 31, 2018

Sorry, my JIRA doesn't look much like yours: clicking the main icon shows me a dashboard. I did eventually open the Search action. By scrolling down through all the options, there was a *View all filters* option where you said it would be, but it wasn't on the visible page. It was difficult to find.