How do I create a Custom table Report for Jira for a specific set of data?

Jeff Chesney July 27, 2018

Hi!

I am very new to Jira, and I am checking out the viability of the software for our company.

One of the requirements is to be able to create a table report for status meetings showing issues/task that have been completed since a specific date or any open / in progress issues/tasks. 

Ideally, I would like the report to be a teammate by teammate basis.

I don't mind building the report myself, however, I am having difficulty finding the right documentation...

I am using the cloud version of Jira.

Thank you for your help!

j.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Joe Kyle
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 27, 2018

Hello Jeff,

One way you do this in Jira Service Desk it to create a saved search using JQL search. Once you save this search it becomes what JIRA calls a “Filter” This filter can be added to a dashboard and that dashboard can be shared with people. Essentially this is how reporting of this type can be handled within Jira SD.

For instance; if you wanted to identify issues from a particular project which are still Open and assigned to a particular person you could create a saved search (filter) using the following JQL string in the “Search issues” tool. It might look something like:  project = Demo AND status in open and assignee = jdoe

You could do the same for issues completed during a certain time:   project = Demo AND createdDate >= 2017-05-20 AND createdDate <= 2018-05-21 AND status = complete

You would run the search by hitting enter, then save this as a saved search (filter) then add a gadget to the dashboard and seat the filter with the gadget. You would have to share the filter and dashboard with the groups. (interested parties).