How could I publish in Confluence a list of Jira tasks ordered by task dependency?

Mario Sotil September 23, 2022

Hi everyone!

I'm a Jira newbie. I'm trying to get a list of tasks which belong to a specific epic, but ordered by task dependency.

I tried to do so by creating a Filter like this one:

`project = COOL_PROJECT AND "Epic Link" = EPIC_IM_MANAGING`

Then, I embedded this Filter in my Confluence doc, and it works. However, I don't  know how to order the tasks by dependencies, showing first those tasks which doesn't have any blocker, and later, those blocked by a previous one.

It could be a plain list, a Gantt chart or something else. There are two important things:

- Give visibility of the task dependencies
- Could be embedded in a Confluence document to be shared later

Any ideas how to do so? Thanks in advance,

2 answers

0 votes
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 18, 2022

Hi @Mario Sotil , OOTB that capability does not exist. There is Advanced Roadmaps in Jira premium that will allow you to visualize issue dependencies. - view-and-manage-dependencies-in-advanced-roadmaps . I also believe that you can add advance roadmap due to confluence. However I have not done this myself so I cannot comment on how it may or may not let your needs. If premium is not an option then consider the marketplace for add-ons.

0 votes
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 24, 2022

Hi @Mario Sotil , welcome to the community.

By "task dependency" do you mean that you are using links for this or something else?