Estimation vs tracking - Story or Sub-Task?

Rachel Park November 15, 2017

Hi, everyone! I am new to JIRA Admin and configuring for our org. We use the following hierarchy for Scrum: 

Epic > Story > Sub-Task

Given this hierarchy, what is the best practice recommended for estimating vs logging work? Currently, we estimate work on the Story level--so we can see our estimations on the backlog during Sprint planning--and log work on the Sub-Task level. (I'd also love to see the Remaining Estimate automatically calculated on the Story based on the logged work of the Sub-Tasks, but it doesn't seem possible this way.) 

I'm sure this has been asked before...but I cannot seem to find any one clear answer. Any tips/help is greatly appreciated - much thanks in advance! 

-Rachel 

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 16, 2017

Hi Rachel

I understand your reason for estimating at the story level, but there's a better way around this.

You should be estimating at sub-task level, then as long as the Include sub-tasks checkbox is ticked, these estimates will sum and show on the parent story. Similarly, the remaining estimates on the sub-tasks will sum to the parent.

To show the estimations on the story in the Backlog view, if you click on the (...) at the top right and choose Board settings, then click on Card Layout. In there, you can add up to 3 fields to the cards showing in the Active sprint board and 3 fields (can be different) in the Backlog view. So you could show the Original Estimate field in the Backlog

Rachel Park November 17, 2017

Hi, Warren, 

Ah - thanks so much for the helpful info! That may work better for us. :)