Displaying 1 Epic across Multiple Boards

Linky Link December 14, 2021

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Jira, so please be patient with me. 

Where I work, we have a project with multiple boards.

For example, Project + Board 1 is mainly to track Epics (EPIC 1, EPIC 2, EPIC 3 etc).

Under the same project there are a few other boards. Let's call them Board 2 and Board 3.

In Board 2, we would like to track 1 Epic (EPIC 1), see the swimlanes and various stories/tasks and sub tasks associated with it.

In Board 3, we would like to track a different Epic (EPIC 2), see the swimlanes and various stories/tasks and sub tasks associated with it.

Is this doable or do I need to create a new EPIC for each board in order to see them in swim lanes?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Link

1 answer

0 votes
Piotr Zadrożny _Eyzee_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 14, 2021

Hi @Linky Link 

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

You can have many boards visible on single project and every one of them can show different issues so your "use case" is possible to configure. Every board is associated with specific filter to show specific set of issues. You can just have several JQL filters showing different issues and then create boards associated with those filters. 

You can also use only 2 boards using Quick filters (buttons on your board to filter issues by provided criteria). You can have 1 board to track epics and 1 board to track task/stories under filtered (using quick filters) epic.