Deleting projects in Jira

Bamini Subramanian October 7, 2019

We want to bulk delete some inactive projects and need some advise:

1. Is there anything that needs to be done before a project is deleted, prep work?
  2. What "things/objects" get deleted when a project is deleted?
  3. This question is related to #2 question - what happens to schemes associated with the deleted project is shared by other projects that are still active? i.e. issue schemes, workflow schemes, screen schemes etc.

thank you for the help!

Bamini

4 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Joe Pitt
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 7, 2019

All data; issues and attachments. Schemes, workflows, and such are unaffected. There is no recovery from deleting. I would make a backup and keep it for at least a year. I've been doing IT for over 20 years and at least a dozen times management has asked to see something from the past. Another option is to assign a permission scheme to the project that is blank. If need be, the JIRA admin can make it visible. 

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 7, 2019

agree. i vote to pseudo-archive thru permission scheme, deleting old dashboards, filters, etc. that are no longer needed.

Like Andrew Laden likes this
0 votes
Answer accepted
Andrew Laden
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 7, 2019

I believe basically just the issues get deleted, as well as the project config in terms of what schemes it uses.