Customizing service desk email

Benjamin Scribner May 21, 2019

I am new to Jira Service Desk and I was wondering if it is possible to configure the system to use one of my business' email addresses for clients to submit tickets?  For example, a client sends an email to helpdesk@mycompanysemailaddress.com, which is then picked up by Jira and entered as a ticket.  Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Ben

4 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 21, 2019

Yes. Just go to project settings > email requests and add a custom email address and use your current helpdesk email.

Jay Lewis May 23, 2019

Jack, 

I have a related question.  When a ticket is created from email, which has people who are cced, how do can Jira Service Desk automatically link them or put them in comments in the original ticket?  

Today, every person who replies to the email will create a new ticket

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 23, 2019

If the cc list are Customers in the project and in the same organization as the reporter they would or should be added as request participants at the onset. When they reply to the email response from JSD then it will be a comment. If they respond to the rwporter’s Email a new ticket is created. 

Jay Lewis May 24, 2019

Jack,

Thank you.  Yeah, i was hoping there was away around the issue if they respond to the reporter's email.  

0 votes
Jan Skopovy jr_ November 20, 2019

Hi, i have same question, how can i set custom email if its non gmail. working for recieving but not as from address. Its Exchange online. 

what can i do to have in/out email support@company.com?

0 votes