Creating a general workflow

dennish_dcsorg_com December 3, 2018

I'm new to Jira. We are looking to see if we can create functionality similar to what we had in Dynamics CRM.

Can we create general workflows that are use say for any sales project. The idea being that we start a sale project that has pre-defined stages, so as a person completes each stage the tasks are closed, emails sent and the overall project moves to the next "stage"

1 answer

0 votes
Yogesh Mude
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 3, 2018

HI @dennish_dcsorg_com

Yes, you can create a workflow and workflow can be associated with Issue types.

And the same workflow can be shared with multiple projects.

The idea being that we start a sale project that has pre-defined stages, so as a person completes each stage the tasks are closed.

In this case, you need to create a workflow and associate with an issue type, the workflow has the different statuses so user/team will create a ticket and the ticket will transit/move/change the status/stage accordingly and once the all the stage completes the ticket will close/resolve.

dennish_dcsorg_com December 3, 2018

Thats good to know. Thanks. Being completely new to Jira I'm still working on wrapping my head around it. So if I wanted to create something that does the following:

1) Create a project parts sale

step 1 is salesperson creates and sends quote, waits for response from client

Step 2 Client ok'd so now sales person closes his task and it goes to accountant (who receives notification email) who will be receiving a deposit for order

Step 3 accountant receives deposit so they close their task and it now hardware people are notified about their part (review and ship)

Step 4 hardware ships stuff and marks it as sent (email to client and separate email to accounting)