Create a custom field issue picker in 2 projects, working like a linked issue

Sylvain Leduc January 5, 2021

Hello,

I would like to create a custom field that would work like the native linked issue functionnality.

I have scriptrunner so I guess it should be doable with a script listener but I am a noob.

I have a multi issue picker X (with a JQL that limits the search to EPIC of Project B) in a Project A, and when I pick one or several issue, I would like the reciprocity to be done in the other multi issue picker Y (with a JQL that limits the search to EPIC of Project A) in the other project B.

I know this addon could do the job (https://marketplace.atlassian.com/apps/1216498/easy-links-for-jira) but not sure it will be approved internally.

Not sure that Automation could do it, I think Script listener is the best ?

Any help about this is appreciated, thanks :-)

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Benz Kek _Adaptavist_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 6, 2021

Hi there, not sure why would you want to do that rather than using the native Jira linking (where you can just create a new link) but you can try out something like below in Script Listener: 

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.event.type.EventDispatchOption

def user = ComponentAccessor.jiraAuthenticationContext.getLoggedInUser()
def field = ComponentAccessor.customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObject(10300) //10300 is my Issue Picker custom field ID

def issueA = ComponentAccessor.issueManager.getIssueObject('TEST-157') //issue in project A
// If you are using listener
// def issueA = event.issue

// Update the Issue Picker in Project B
def issueB = ComponentAccessor.issueManager.getIssueObject('ABC-123') //issue in project B
issueB.setCustomFieldValue(field,issueA)